Practice Makes Perfect In Huntsville

TheFarmJoshWaveTackleJoshAndDaddyReelMatureBlueGillCranstonOnTheDockBacardiSavannahFishing

I mentioned last time that we spent some time in Huntsville last weekend. My dad, who normally works on weekends, had Sunday off. Since there is rarely a chance that we get to see my parents and Seth together, we decided to head over on Saturday evening. Getting over there is no small feat. Between the overnight bags, getting Cranston and Posy settled in the car and the nearly hour and a half drive, it’s hard not be tired by the time we roll into the driveway.

We ate dinner with my mom and Seth at Arby’s. We don’t live near one here in Houston so I guess Josh’s need for roast beef and curly fries was at a high. He mentioned in the morning it was what he wanted for dinner. Back at the house we watched The Book of Life. My mom had been talking about how good it was for a while. I felt bad because I only got about twenty minutes into the movie before dozing off and waking up to the credits. I need to try watching it again. The part I saw was good and the animation is beautiful. Strangely enough though, I just saw the trailer for the new Pixar movie Coco and, I swear, it looks like the same move. They are both all about Dia de los Meurtos, they both have a little boy with a guitar, both have lots of skeletons walking around…we’ll see what happens when it’s released.

Back to our weekend-I was the first to wake up Sunday morning (probably because I was first to fall asleep the night before) and I bugged Josh to come sleep on the couch next to me while I continued to watch The Great British Bake Off on Netflix. Oh my goodness, guys, few TV shows exist that are better than GBBO. I guess, on the surface, it’s just a bunch of people being judged on how well they mix sugar and flour together. But it is such a treat (pun intended) to watch! Josh and my dad were happy to get some fishing in before the five of us went to Conroe for brunch at Cracker Barrel. Every time I eat there I have to ask myself why we don’t go there more often…so delish.

Aside from being with Seth and my parents, I was most happy that I got the chance to take some pictures on our little trip. Photography is something I have always enjoyed but I hadn’t gotten the opportunity to really play with it until about a year ago when I got my DSLR. Seth got one during our last Christmas in El Paso and I really loved getting to mess around with it. I liked it so much that I found one on sale and ordered it a few days after we got home from El Paso. There has been a lot of trial and error since then. I used it from the start but had it on automatic settings a lot in the beginning because I had no idea how to adjust correctly. I have learned, and continue to learn, a lot mostly from YouTube. I developed a rule of always having it on manual so that I can get practice. I had plenty of time to practice on Sunday while the guys were fishing. These are a few of my favorite shots.

Lots of love,

Savannah

 

 

 

One thought on “Practice Makes Perfect In Huntsville

Leave a Reply

